The Ruins of the “Pieve” of Saint Quirico in Alfiano

Bookmark

The old Church within the forest. 

Discover the ruins of the Church of Saint Quirico Soprarno

There is a dirt road that cuts through the hill behind the town of Castiglion Fibocchi and connects it directly to its only hamlet: Gello Biscardo.  This road, which offers spectacular views of Castiglion Fibocchi and the Valdarno area leads to the town of Poggio Macchione and to the ruins of the Church of Saint Quirico in Alfiano, also known as the Church of Saint Quirico Soprarno. 

Today this sacred structure is mostly in ruins. It dates back to the year 1000 and was built on the remains of an early Christian church. Like all the churches of this era, it was built near an important crossroads, the Roman Cassia Vetus which led to the Casentino area. 

Documents indicate that this was a very important church, one of the most important in the area because it had six other churches associated with it. Over the centuries however, this large parish church in the forest was gradually abandoned. In the 1600s the baptismal font was moved to the heart of Castiglion Fibocchi. 

In 2013 work began, thanks to the Saint Quirico Archeological Society that followed the archeological work at the parish church of Saint Quirico in Alfiano, to excavate the area in order to bring to light the ancient origins of the parish church and rewrite the history of this sacred place.

The Ruins of the “Pieve” of Saint Quirico in Alfiano

Suggested experiences